Images 1

The Enterprise — Melissa Hale-Spencer

Head of the class: Superintendent Marie Wiles gives certificates to the principals of Altamont Elementary School, Peter Brabant, at center, and Pine Bush Elementary School, Christopher Sanita, at left. Both schools were designated “Reward Schools” by the State Education Department, demonstrating “the most progress or highest achievement with no significant gaps in student achievement.” “We need to recognize not only the teachers and staff…but also the district office, board of education, and these wonderful parents,” said Brabant, who also recognized Stephen Hadden, the administrator for special education. “At my school, we have a large special-education population,” Brabant said. “I don’t know if there’s anyone left to thank,” quipped Sanita, adding, “We certainly accept this honor proudly.”