Bethlehem Library Notes for Thursday, August 1, 2013

— Photo by Mary Trev Thomas

Geoffrey Kirkpatrick, director of Bethlehem Public Library, has won the post of president of the New York Library Association.

Jeremy Johannesen, executive director of the New York Library Association, has announced that Bethlehem Public Library Director Geoffrey Kirkpatrick has won the post of NYLA president for the 2014-15 term.

In the meantime, Kirkpatrick will serve on the NYLA Council as president-elect.

In a recent statement, Kirkpatrick summarized the challenges ahead for 21 Century libraries; “Libraries are poised to enter a period of greater engagement with users, communities, and resources. Both new and traditional roles are being blended into the essential services of tomorrow.”