1979 BKW basketball team heads up Hall Of Fame class

To the Editor:

This year’s fifth class to be inducted into the Berne-Knox-Westerlo Athletic Hall Of Fame will be headed up by the 1979 Section 2 class C and regional champions boys’ basketball team. Coach Dave Troy who coached that 1979 team will also be inducted.

Long-time golf coach Don Dennis will be inducted. Track and cross-country stars Glenn and Neal Dow will be inducted.

Basketball standout Todd Slingerland will be inducted. Donna Miller Van Zandt, a long-time outstanding girls’ soccer coach for Berlin and Tamarac schools, and finally Art Shultes, a lifelong supporter and coach of many teams here at BKW as well as youth teams within our Hilltown community, will round out this year’s 2019 class.

This year’s ceremony will be held on Friday Oct. 4. The ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. with light hors d’oeuvres in the high school cafeteria, which is located between the elementary school and the high school.

Please park out front and look for the sign at the entrance to the high-school cafeteria. The ceremony will then move to the auditorium for the inductions.

We welcome past Hall of Fame inductees as well as our BKW community to come help celebrate this year’s Hall of Fame class.

BKW Athletic

Hall of Fame Committee

Dennis Barber

Tom Galvin


Andy Wright

Cathy Allen

More Letters to the Editor

The Altamont Enterprise is focused on hyper-local, high-quality journalism. We produce free election guides, curate readers' opinion pieces, and engage with important local issues. Subscriptions open full access to our work and make it possible.