Berne GOP nominees take supervisor, town board seats, ousting incumbents

The Enterprise – H. Rose Schneider
Republican candidates on Election Night, from left to right, are Dennis Palow, a Republican, Mary Alice Molgard, a Democrat, and Randy Bashwinger, the GOP chair. 

BERNE — In a heated race that had all 10 open posts contested, unofficial results show Berne Republican candidates ousting incumbents, taking the town supervisor and town board posts by narrow margins.

Republican Sean Lyons, who ran on the Republican, Conservative, and Independence Party lines, garnered 607 votes. Democratic incumbent Kevin Crosier got 563 votes, according to unofficial results from the Albany County Board of Elections. Crosier, who ran on the Democratic line, has served as supervisor for four terms.

Republican Dennis Palow garnered the most votes for town council with 582. His running mate on the Republican line, Democrat Frank Brady, got the second most with 569. Closely behind him are Democrat Joel Willsey with 565 votes, followed by James Cooke, a Democrat who was appointed early this year to a seat on town council, with 522 votes. Both ran on the Democratic line.

Incumbent Republican Randy Bashwinger, who ran on the Republican line and spearheaded campaign efforts as the party chairman, received 694 votes, while his Democratic opponent, running on the Democratic line, Ronald Shultes, got 491.

For the first time in recent history, the Democrat-dominated town saw every post contested. An all-Democratic slate made up mostly of incumbents was challenged by a mix of Democrats, Republicans, and Independence Party members running  on the Republican line.

The only incumbent Republican was Bashwinger who sought many of the candidates who became his running mates.

Democratic incumbents took other seats in the election. Anita Clayton defeated William Keal for town clerk; Alan Zuk and Albert Raymond kept their seats for town justice, besting Mary Alice Molgard and Richard Otto; Gerald O’Malley defeated Joanne Brady for tax collector; and Brian Crawford and Melanie Bunzey kept their posts as town assessors, defeating challengers Jenniffer Wright and Kimberly Collins.


More Hilltowns News