[Home Page] [This Week] [Classifieds] [Legals] [Obituaries] [Newsstands] [Subscriptions] [Advertising] [Deadlines] [About Us] [FAQ] [Archives] [Community Links] [Contact Us]

Guilderland Archives — The Altamont Enterprise, January 6, 2011

New year, same faces for town government

By Anne Hayden

GUILDERLAND — With no Guilderland election in November, the town board voted unanimously at its re-organizational meeting on all appointments, with only mild dissension on two other topics.

The board voted to authorize the town supervisor to make provisional appointments to fill vacant positions, but Republican Councilman Warren Redlich — in the minority on a Democrat-dominated board — made a motion to require the supervisor to notify board members of the appointment within a 48-hour time frame. The board voted unanimously to adopt the motion.

The board was also asked to approve a budget transfer requested by the comptroller’s office, which Supervisor Kenneth Runion explained was part of the assessor’s budget. The town board had voted in November to increase the assessor’s hours from 35 to 40, per week, and leave a part-time assessment clerk position open.

However, the assessor, John Macejka, has since accepted a part-time job outside of town hall, and won’t be able to work the extra five hours a week. The budget transfer would allow the town to fill the part-time assessment clerk position. Republican Councilman Mark Grimm, who opposed the increased in Macejka’s hours in November, opposed the budget transfer, which was approved by a vote of 4-to-1.


The following appointments were unanimously approved by the town board on Jan. 4:

— Stephen Feeney, chairman of the planning board;

— Terry Coburn, planning board member;

— Peter Barber, chairman of the zoning board of appeals;

— James Sumner, zoning board of appeals member;

— Sharon Cupoli, zoning board of appeals member;

— Charles Cahill, alternate member of the zoning board of appeals;

— John Wemple, chairperson and member of the environmental conservation advisory council, and members Herb Henning, Stuart, Reese, Stephen Albert, Gordon McClelland, and Steven D. Wickham, and David Heller;

— William Young, chairman and member of the industrial development agency, and members James Shahda, Michael Bopp, Christopher Bombadier, and Anthony Carrow;

— Hodgson, Russ LLP, Joseph Scott of Counsel, attorney to the industrial development agency;

— Dr. Don Doynow, medical director, paramedics;

— Alice Begley, town historian;

— Jean Cataldo, registrar of vital statistics;

— Karen VanWagenen, deputy registrar of vital statistics;

— Rosemary Centi, passport agent;

— Linda Clark, deputy town attorney, planning board; and,

— Janet Thayer, deputy town attorney, zoning board of appeals.


The town board also voted unanimously to:

— Designate First National Bank of Scotia, First Niagra Bank, Citizens Bank, J.P. Morgan Chase Bank, Pioneer Commercial Bank, NBT Bank, and M&T Bank as official depositories;

— Authorize the supervisor and comptroller to invest Certificates of Deposit in any of the designated official depositories with a third party holding the securities;

— Designate Boswell Engineering, Delaware Engineering, Barton and Loguidice, Clough Harbor, Ingalls & Associates, LLP, and Spectra Engineering as town designated engineers;

— Establish mileage rate to coincide with the federal internal revenue service approved rate per mile for reimbursement to town employees when authorized to use their private vehicles on town business;

— Authorize the highway superintendent and the superintendent of water and wastewater management to spend up to $2,000 per year for the purchase of tools without prior approval of the town board;

— Designate the town supervisor as affirmative action officer;

— Designate the town supervisor as emergency response officer;

— Designate town board members and officials as liaisons to various town departments for 2011; and

— Designate The Altamont Enterprise as the official newspaper of the town of Guilderland; and

— Approve a 0-percent cost of living increase for all non-union employees and elected and appointed officials subject to eligible non-union employees receiving their longevity increase pursuant to the town employment manual.

[Return to Homepage]